top of page


for piano


2016-2017 * commissioned by STUDIO2021

(Nouvelles Études)


ca. 3' 30'' 

Water has long provided a fountain of inspiration to composers; as such, it should come as no surprise that this piece was inspired by the Danube River in Austria. The composer was walking nearby the river and saw the magical appearance of “the trees reflected in the sun creating various colors on the surface of the river, flowing smoothly in the cold air of the morning”. After reaching the riverside, the composer witnessed “strong winds and waves, creating the illusion of standing in front of a huge ocean”, and was inspired to select a title meaning "wave or flow" as “various changes of the mood, color, and energy of the piece bring out the echo of a chord’s sound and timbral quality.”

While the tempo of the quarter note (= ca.144) remains constant, the five sections of the piece - the Allegro con moto, Con anima, Tranquillo, Agitato, and Passionato - are interconnected, and the composer's visual, auditory, and tactile experiences described above are represented by sounds produced from the piano. The way the shimmering water and the oscillating waves are depicted in this piece can be understood along a continuous line of Schubert, Liszt, Ravel, and Debussy's pianism. (Text: Jeong Eun SEO, Professor, Seoul National University)

* This piece was commissioned by STUDIO2021 as part of the project “Tout sur les Études”

물은 오랫동안 작곡가들에게 착상의 ‘샘’이었다. 이 곡 또한 오스트리아 도나우강에서 발원한다. 강 지류가 흐르는 거리를 걷던 작곡가는 “햇빛에 반사된 나무들이 아침의 차가운 공기 속에서 잔잔히 흐르는 강의 수면 위로 다양한 색채를 만들어내는” 신비로운 모습, 이윽고 강 본류에 다다른 후 갑작스레 “거센 바람과 물결이 거대한 바다 앞에 선 듯한 착각을 일으키는” 광경을 경험하고, “이러한 정취, 색감과 에너지의 다채로운 변화로부터 소리의 울림과 화음의 색채적 변화를 이끌어 낸다는 점에서 ‘파동, 물결’을 의미하는 제목”을 택했다고 밝힌다.

4분음표=ca.144의 템포가 일정하게 유지되는 가운데 Allegro con moto - Con anima - Tranquillo - Agitato - Passionato의 다섯 부분이 이어지면서, 위에 묘사한 강가에서의 작곡가의 시각∙청각∙촉각적 경험은 다양한 피아노음향으로 치환된다. 이 곡에서 물의 영롱함과 출렁이는 파동을 표현하는 방식은 슈베르트와 리스트, 라벨, 드뷔시의 피아니즘의 연속선상에서 이해될 수 있다. (글: 서정은, 서울대학교 음악대학 교수)

* 이 작품은 서울대학교 현대음악시리즈 STUDIO2021의 자체 제작 프로젝트 <에튀드의 모든 것>의 일환으로 작곡되었다.

bottom of page